Recipes: Primal Chocolate Chip Cookies

chocolate chip cookieThis recipe is a variation of the Chocolate Chip Cookies from The Food Lover’s Kitchen/Primal Palate site.  I made a few changes and wanted to post them here.

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 1 cup Semisweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1/2 cup Butter, unsalted
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened coconut milk (if needed, if batter seems a bit dry)
  • 1/4 cup Maple Syrup
  • 1/4 cup Coconut sugar
  • 3 whole Eggs, Pastured
  • 2 cups Almond Flour
  • 1/2 cup Arrowroot Starch
  • 1/2 cup Coconut Flour

Process

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. In a medium-sized mixing bowl combine dry ingredients (flours, baking soda, salt).
  3. In a small mixing bowl beat eggs, butter, coconut sugar, maple syrup, and vanilla extract with a hand mixer.
  4. Pour wet ingredients into dry and beat with hand mixer until combined.
  5. Stir in chocolate chips.
  6. On a parchment-lined baking sheet, drop balls of cookie dough, about a tablespoon in size (flatten slightly – they don’t flatten on their own).
  7. Bake for 12-14 minutes.
  8. Let cool on wire cookie racks.  Makes approx 24-36 cookies.

*Variation: update, January 21st – I ran short of almond flour, so replaced 1/2 cup I was missing with arrowroot starch/powder (I use this in combination with almond flour for the paleo bread I make for my sons).  I found it make the baked cookie quite nice.

9 thoughts on “Recipes: Primal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I’ve been surfing online greater than three hours as of late, yet I by no means found any fascinating article like yours. It is pretty worth sufficient for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will likely be a lot more useful than ever before.

  2. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now
    each time a comment is added I get three emails with
    the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that
    service? Thank you!

  3. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.|

Leave a comment