Recipes: Hot Cocoa

I enjoy sharing my recipes.  Sometimes complex, sometimes simple.  Usually my own, or an adaptation, or borrowed (with permission) from a friend.

This first week is that cold-weather classic – Hot Cocoa.  It comes from a long time friend (yarnsalad on blogger), and is one of my favourite winter treats.

Now, please keep in mind that I often don’t measure, unless for baking.  I go by taste, so these are suggestions – you’ll need to taste yours as you go to make sure it’s okay.

Ursa’s Hot Cocoa:

  •  3-4 heaping tablespoons pure cocoa powder (I find Dutch-processed the best)
  •  2-4 level teaspoons of pure maple syrup (you can use honey or raw sugar or maple sugar, if you prefer)
  •  pinch of cinnamon powder (optional)
  •  boiling water
  •  milk (cow’s, or rice, or almond or soy, your preference); for an extra rich treat, use cream 🙂
  •  few drop pure vanilla extract

How to:

In a mug, add the cocoa powder and cinnamon powder, then the maple syrup (add half – you can add more after, if it’s not sweet enough).  With a spoon (I prefer a wee whisk), add about 3-4 tablespoons of boiling water.  Mix with cocoa and maple syrup to make a thinnish paste.  Add more boiling water, stirring while pouring, until you are about 2/3 to the top of your mug.  Then add the milk/cream (I sometime heat my milk first so that it doesn’t cool the temperature of the hot cocoa too much) to fill the rest of the mug.  Add the drops of the vanilla extract.  Stir and taste.  Add more maple syrup, if needed.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

