It’s a secret, sort of…

I cast on a new knitting project last week, after casting off some socks for my mother.  I didn’t intend to start it so soon, however, it’s a gift for a friend, and somewhat time sensitive.  I’d rather give myself more time than I need, so perhaps now is the perfect time to work on it.  I’ve been shockingly monogamous with this project, so I suppose that’s a good thing.

There have been two great things about this project so far.  First, I’m working, for the first time, with Dream In Colour’s Classy Worsted yarn.  It’s really nice to knit with – 100% Superwash Merino, 4 or 5-ply, 250 yards per 4oz.  I can see why many have created sweaters with this yarn.

Second, the colours are knitting up pretty and I like the simple style of the project and pattern.  However! The pattern is also what is mildly troubling me.  Well, the designer is, really.

Now, I really appreciate knitwear designers – they work hard for us knitters and we would be lost without them.  However, when a designer refuses to consider a minor change suggested by a knitter to help future knitters read the pattern, I get a little hot under the collar.

I don’t want to name the pattern or designer at this time, especially as the project is still hush-hush.  Sufficed it to say, I had trouble with some increases and stitch counts, and realised that the wording on a sentence or two of the pattern could be altered a little to make things clearer.  When I politely suggested to the designer that this would help, she declined to do anything about it.  Apparently when one has 2000 of the project listed on Ravelry with only two complaints about this confusion, the voices of the minority can be shooed away.

I don’t intend to go quietly into that good night, thank you very much.  I intend to make a wee fuss about it.  After all, I’m only trying to make things easier for other knitters, so that there won’t be others needing to rip back eight rows to correct the number of stitches (that was fun!).

Do I sound a bit….incensed?  Aye, that I am.

But nevermind that for now.  I need to get back to the knitting.  That is, after all, what’s it’s really about.

3 thoughts on “It’s a secret, sort of…

  1. Interesting! If had a pattern, I would welcome criticism and the ability to better that pattern to make it more accessible for everyone. At very least, she could have made a note on the pattern page along the lines of:Note:On row 6: A couple of people had issues with ________________, please note that it can also be read as _________________.

  2. Yes, it's a free pattern. And while making a change on the actual PDF pattern might be some work, I was thinking that a note on the Errata page of her website with a clarifying line or two would be plenty easy to do. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

