Welcome (insert name here)!

As hinted in the previous post, we have a new family member.  No, no, I didn’t pop out another child (‘pop out’ – yeah, like it’s that easy).  We have adopted a second cat.  A little boy, about 3 years old.  He is a tabby of some sort, and we found him through Cats Cradle Animal Rescue, here in Victoria.

This cat is one of the sweetest, most cuddly creatures I’ve met.  He loves being held, rather like a wee child, and is an instant lap cat.  He does tend to demand a lot of attention, and meows more than I am okay with, but I suspect that it’s part of getting used to our house and his place in it.  I’m hoping that he’ll relax more once he gets the full run of the house.

Our other cat, Sarah, is not amused, as one would expect, but she’s managing to keep away from him.  She stares at him a lot. She does hiss if he comes to close, and has started to take a swipe at him, which I have curtailed with a squirt from a water bottle.  He is mellow about this – doesn’t hiss, and just backs off.  

This friendly boy, however, is currently nameless.  While it’s true that the foster homes had him named as “Geoffrey”, I quickly dismissed this.  Just not my cup of tea for a cat’s name.  So we have to come up with a new one.  I do have a few ideas, and my eldest son does too.  My suggestions are:

  • Finn (short for “Fingal”, or “Finn McCool” – an Irish/Scotch warrior of myth)
  • Satchmo (the nickname of famous musician Louis Armstrong)
  • Aslan (the lion (and Christ-figure) from The Lion, Witch and the Wardrobe series)

My son’s suggestion is… “Marucho” (not sure on the spelling, so going phonetically on this), a character from the Bakkugan toys.  Can you tell where his brain space is these days?

So yes, we have a few ideas, but haven’t made the firm decision.  If you have a suggestion for a name, or want to vote for one of the above mentioned, pop a postcard in the mail.  Or, just post a comment.

Update, May 7th: we now have the kitty’s name.  None of us seemed to want to give in to other choices, so we did the only thing we could do to be fair – we drew a name out of a hat.  In went “Marucho”, “Finn” and “Satchmo”.  My eldest son drew…”Marucho” – the name he had wanted.  He, of course, was mighty pleased.  My 4-year-old, who loved the name “Satchmo”, let the floodgates open, and much comforting and tissues.  I’m not a big fan of “Marucho”, but fair’s fair. 

5 thoughts on “Welcome (insert name here)!

  1. Hi Ursa, These all seem like great choices so I can see why the dilema. I have always liked the names Nevin which is Gaelic and means Saint and sioltaich or as it is more commonly known now Sholto also Gaelic and means propagator. Yes I am very much a little too Scottish at times haha.

  2. Good names. I always try to pick slightly different names. He looks like a Matao to me, (and Tao is a cute short form.)Good luck. He'll tell you what he likes.

  3. I liked all three of the names, although my dog is called Fin and he dislikes cats… Had I had my way, Fin would have been called Zaphod, after the infamous alien Zaphod Beeblebrox, but alas it has had to be his second name

  4. If you shorten his name to Maru, he'll be named after a Japanese star of Youtube! (I won't post a link because I don't want to look like spam, but he's a very famous cat). Whether this makes it better or worse, I don't know 😉

Leave a Reply

