Day 3: Tidy Mind, Tidy Stitches (aka "Yarn Wrangling")

Day 3 of the Knitting & Crocheting Blogging week is: “How do you keep your yarn wrangling organised? It seems like an easy to answer question at first, but in fact organisation exists on many levels. Maybe you are truly not organised at all, in which case I am personally daring you to try and photograph your stash in whatever locations you can find the individual skeins. However, if you are organised, blog about an aspect of that organisation process, whether that be a particularly neat and tidy knitting bag, a decorative display of your crochet hooks, your organised stash or your project and stash pages on Ravelry.”

Okay, oddly enough, while the rest of my house might be in layers of chaos, my stash is pretty well organised.  I keep track of most (90%) of it on Ravelry, in my stash pages, with individual listings and photographs.  And the main storing of it is here:

It was only a couple of weekends ago that I went through all of this above, as I was already taking inventory of Gaia’s Colours’ supply of undyed yarn & fibre.  These bins contain my personal stash, mostly hand-dyed (big surprise), and are now all properly labelled and organised.  I do need to sync it with my Ravelry stash pages though, as I’m a bit behind in some of the older yarns that I bought as a newer knitter.

Overall, I’m happy with how it’s all organised, and I do try to go through it every few months to review what to use, what to keep, what to sell or give away, etc.

3 thoughts on “Day 3: Tidy Mind, Tidy Stitches (aka "Yarn Wrangling")

  1. That is a lot of yarn, and from the look of it, it looks like there is a lot of good yarn as well. However, my stash is of the free range kind.

Leave a Reply

