Wrangling the stash

Every once in a while, I take a look, a real look at the entirety of my yarn stash.  I’m doing so this week, and I’ve realised, once and for all, that I have way more yarn than I need or will likely use in the next five years.  This means a thorough inventory, and updating my Ravelry stash page (for those of you on Ravelry – aren’t stash pages great?), and yes, destashing a bunch of the yarn.

It really is amazing to look through bins of yarn that I have forgotten about.  It’s like buried treasure.  Or trash.  A “What was I thinking buying this?” moment bubbling up a few times.  Brenda Dayne of the “Cast On” podcast calls it the “annual airing of the stash”, something I think most of us knitters/crafters can benefit from regularly.

So that’s what I’m doing – “airing” my stash.  Will have destash details soon, for those interested.

5 thoughts on “Wrangling the stash

  1. Oh my, I completely understand the stash busting. Unfortunately I need to stash bust more crafty areas than just my yarn! Yikes! Thank you for your lovely comments on my blog. I just commented on your question about why my blog is posting behind. I am sorry I am so confusing! Thanks for looking though.

Leave a Reply

