What’s in my ears, September 19th

Okay, I can’t help myself – three blog posts in one day.  But it’s in part due to being behind on my regular weekly updates, and also to just loving having my new laptop to type on.  I must admit, after having five computers in my life (counting this new one), three being desktops and the other two laptops, I infinitely prefer typing on a laptop.  The keys are flatter, have a softer “click” when pressed, and have less distance to be pressed.  I find regular keyboards often loud in their “clacking” sounds.  The sounds made when typing on a laptop are the gentle strikes of one’s fingertips, and sometimes fingernails on the keys, mild, soothing, unobtrusive.  Perfect, in my amateur writer’s mind.

Now I’ve seriously veered away from the title of this blog entry, my apologies.

Right, what have I been listening to?  Well, I have finished the second Outlander novel, Dragonfly in Amber, last week, and plunged directly into the third book, Voyager.  I intend to write a blog post shortly about these two books, so I won’t go into it here.  Sufficient to say, I am really enjoying the twists and turns of the series and intend to read to the end.

In terms of podcasts, I fallen a bit behind this past week, with only a couple episodes of the Caithness Craft Collective (where Louise very kindly passed along some information I sent her about Gaia’s Colours), and to the latest of Electric Sheep.  I’m seriously behind in both CogKnitive and CraftLit, but will be putting them on more when I’m working in the GC studio this week.

On a side note, I’m reading an actual, physical book called Screenplay: The Fountains of Screenwriting, by Syd Field.  From what I understand, Mr. Field and his books are very important and useful in the world of screenwriting.  It’s been decent reading so far, in a simple, conversational style – quite pleasant, really.  Not that I have much time for actual reading, but I need to make the time, in order to help myself learns the “why’s” and “wherefore’s” (and even more important, in my eyes, the “how’s”) of writing a screenplay.  Pretty essential if I’m to put my story out into sell-able work, no?

One thought on “What’s in my ears, September 19th

Leave a Reply

