Treasuring my Purls

Up until the last month of so, I have loathed purling (the reverse side/stitch of knit stitch, for those of you not in the know).  It seemed so slow, and more work than the knit stitch.  In truth, there is more finger/hand action for me with the purl stitch.  So why am I suddenly warming up to, nee, loving the purl?  It’s simple – the right thickness (weight) and type of yarn.  I seem to have an easy time working the purl stitch with heavier yarns, like the 5-ply, worsted, tightly-twisted QED BFL yarn from The Sanguine Gryphon (which I have mentioned a few times before, in previous posts).  My fingers just seem to know what to feel for and do with a thicker yarn.  So I can knit almost a whole row of 250 stitches or so without looking at my work.  Why is this useful?  Well, say I am watching an interesting movie that has subtitles.  The more I can pay attention to the screen and not my knitting, the less of the text I’ll miss.

Oddly enough, the knit stitches still require more attention – the fingers don’t have that action of finding and knitting without my eyes as guidance.  Dang.

On the dyeing-for-the-fibre-festival front, I must admit to getting tired of it already, and I still have eighteen days to finish.  The weekend dye-time is good, and I have decent energy and enthusiasm for it.  The weekday evenings however, are when I just want to curl up with my knitting, after a busy day of being a mother.

Did I mention how impatient I am for my time off in July…?

2 thoughts on “Treasuring my Purls

  1. I love purling! For me it's way faster than knitting – almost twice as fast. Maybe because I'm a lefty? I'm a puller, not a thrower. Well hang in there with the dyeing. It will all be worth it when thousands of fans gush over the gorgeous colours and you go home with no stock left. 🙂

Leave a Reply

