Flinging the Balls

of yarn, that is – get your mind out of the gutter!

It has been a while since I’ve posted.  The inspiration to blog comes in clumps.  However, I thought it would be good to update some knitting progress.  Oh!  Speaking of knitting progress, you may have noticed that I now have a “Knitting Projects Progress” section in the sidebar, courtesy of Ravelry.com.  The two pieces that I’m having to focus exclusively on right now are the purple Estelle Cardigan and the Banba Green Gables Tee.  Why?  Well, I hope to have them ready for the Victoria Fibre Festival weekend, where I would like to wear the green Tee (pun not intended) for the fashion show on Friday, June 18th, and the purple cardigan for the Sunday Market at Saxe Point on the 20th of June.  Both are moving along okay.  The Estelle cardigan is very good – well written, and not too difficult.  I moved through the lace/flower pattern at the yoke with ease, and divided the sleeves and am now working on the body, in stockinette.  The only problem I’m encountering is the yarn.  It’s QED (which I love), but since it’s hand-dyed in a dark purple semi-solid, and from two different batches, the eight skeins are not the same.  So I’m having to juggle a lot between lighter and darker skeins and yet also try not to have such extremes in light and dark in the knitting as to look odd and/or stripey.
Which is a pity, because as the only issue with the knitting, it makes the knitting process not as much fun.

The other top is another top-down piece, in the round and knit with a heavy sport/DK hand-dyed (my own Gaia’s Colours Pales DK Fluffy) in the pale sage green “Banba”.  After having a wee challenge with the designer’s choice of cast-on edge, I moved forward without issue.  The top has a small front panel of lace along the top chest area, and is stockinette for the body, with short sleeves.  I’m not thrilled with the circular needles I am using (Hiya Hiya interchangables) and would prefer to use an Addi Turbo circ, but don’t have that size/length.  Other than that, it’s moving along fine, though a little slow and a bit boring.  I’m really pleased with how my hand-dyed subtle-solid is knitting up – very pretty!

This week I’ve been catching up on emails, including messages to friends and acquaintances that I don’t speak to often.  One such acquaintance I knew back in my one year of theatre school in Calgary, AB.  It brought back a lot of memories, both good and bad.  It also brought back the music that I listened to during that time – namely Tori Amos’ “Under The Pink”, Depeche Mode’s “Songs of Faith and Devotion”, and Pearl Jam’s “Ten”.  I also fell in love with the 19th Century Polish composer Frederic Chopin and his vast piano pieces.

I find it fascinating how certain things are often associated with memories – like scents, of course, and yes, music.  Books can be too, and even TV shows and films.  I now link knitting to the path of memory – what I was knitting when a certain event occurred.  Or linking what I was watching, reading or listening to when I was knitting a certain piece.  I recall Brenda Dayne of the Cast On podcast mentioned this idea – what we are surrounded by when we are knitting becomes a part of the woven cloth.  I love this idea.

Just a brief piece of musing today, as I’ve a dinner out to prepare for.  This post is also the first to be created on my new studio computer.  It’s not brand new, but a fairly new, hand-me-down from my husband.  It’s about a thousand times faster than the outdated laptop I previously used, so I’m pretty pleased thus far.

Hoping your spring weekend is sunnier and warmer than the gray West Coast one today outside my window…

Leave a Reply

