Why I love my mail-carrier

When I returned home from an outing with my boys this afternoon, a delicious box of books was waiting for me.  Yes, my Julie and Julia books.  They are:

  • My Life In France, by Julia Child, 2006.
  • Julia’s Kitchen Wisdom, by Julia Child, 2000.
  • Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Volume 1, by Julia Child, with Louisette Bertholle and Simone Beck, 1961.
  • Julie & Julia, my year of cooking Dangerously, by Julie Powell, 2005.

The large cookbook, Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Volume 1 was opened first, and wouldn’t you know it, the first recipe I happened to flip to was Boeuf Bourguignon, one of the classic recipes featured in the Julie & Julia movie.  It is a beef stew of sorts, and reminds me a little of my own beef stew recipe, but lots more red wine.  And bacon.  Hm, bacon could be good.

Will explore all four books more in depth over the coming weeks.  Will even attempt to cook some of the recipes.  Will let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

